Breaking News: Grey is the new blonde!

Not kidding. That is really a story in the Sydney Morning Herald. Granted, not a top story, not a headline.. but the fact that it gets a place in a newspaper at all offends me.

All these stories regarding the Fifa World Cup getting first mention in newspapers and news websites don’t please me either.

I find it difficult to believe that there is nothing more important going on in the world than soccer, or Nicole Kidman’s rumoured pregnancy.

I’m unsure whether to blame stupid newspapers and magazines for circulating these stories, or whether to blame the idiotic population for apparently wanting to know about them.

Shouldn’t people involved in the media make good use of their influence and run stories that are of some importance to humanity? What about reporting on FGM in western countries? Yeah, it’s seen some coverage, but frankly, I am more informed about Miley Cyrus’s latest gaffes. What about reporting on slavery? Yes, it does still occur.

What about reporting on scientific advancements, rather than telling me which brands of makeup are best for value?

I am aware that the print industry is taking its last breaths, but what about news websites? They are faring no better.

Is there no integrity left in journalism, a field I am so intensely interested in being a part of? Is this what I am going to be forced to report on?

What will it take for the average consumer to stop giving a shit about what Katherine Heigl does with her hair?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment